Man Hours for Certain Jobs?

the problem I found with my last situation is that unless you have used them before or they are on a per job price, my case it was per hour, and admittedly, they did a pretty good job, and didnt really stuff around or waste time, and they actively gave suggestions on saving time and budget,

I found that they had the power in most of the situations, eg we agreed on a per hour price, of the 4 weeks I worked with them, the main guy (sub 25) did 3 days no show from being drunk off his nut, his apprentice (sub 25 as well) turned up 3 days of the week,

and I was aware that if I put too much pressure on them or complained too much, they would have easily walked off the job thus requiring me to find a replacement which would have been quite difficult at short notice

tradies know that they are short in numbers and they could find another job , and being young, they have less to worry about,

when I negotiated with them I told them, 8hour days, 1 hour lunch, which I interpreted as 7hours pay, but they ended up charging me for 8hours, thus me paying for lunch time, but I was happy with their overall job, so all in all what I deem a success

Calmly stated my point mate. :)

Disagree totally. I know what happens when some of these guys go home to the family.

You mean like, they talk too much (unless they drink heaps, in which case they go to sleep) :D.

The ones that give grief to their families usually have issues, and give them grief when they're not drinking too.

Much like non drinking types ;).

i know whenever i even stand in the same room as a beer i go home and beat my imaginery wife, after driving into a pole of course

no exaggeration whatsoever

Sidenote: my good friend's son 23 years old, just qualified 1 year electrician...brings in 1600 net per week....can that be justified against

Unless he is working in mining, a 23yo sparky 1 year out of his apprenticeship does not take home $1600 per week net (or about 120k gross).

So either your friend is making up numbers, her son is making up numbers, or if hes working in mining, the salary means nothing compared to the rest of the workforce since they are so highly inflated.

Unless he is working in mining, a 23yo sparky 1 year out of his apprenticeship does not take home $1600 per week net (or about 120k gross).

So either your friend is making up numbers, her son is making up numbers, or if hes working in mining, the salary means nothing compared to the rest of the workforce since they are so highly inflated.

many of them missed year 10-12 and also missed out on specialist maths subjects - so maybe they miscalculated their earnings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMSydney

many of them missed year 10-12 and also missed out on specialist maths subjects - so maybe they miscalculated their earnings.

You guys live in fairyland. Sparkies in Mackay are earning $40+ easy just on wages, working in town doing domestic work. And before you waffle on about Mackay being a mining town, the nearest mine is 135km away, so it is not a mining town like Moranbah and Dysart and the like.

pinkboy

Here's a solution. Maybe JWR should advertise in the Calcutta Telegraph for tradies. He just has to sponsor them, house them and feed them. They should work for $2.20 per hour.

457 visa wont be an option for JWR. You have to commit to sponsor them for 2 years (and 4 years after July 1st 2012), and the minimum they can earn is $49,000 p/a!

Maybe give Charlie a call, and see if he can labour hire some Oompa Loompas and pay in Cocoa beans?

pinkboy

The maths involved in your average 4 year electrical apprenticeship is at least equal in difficulty to the 'specialist' maths offered by most public schools in VCE.

Because I wear overalls or a fluro shirt to work I deserve to be looked down upon? I'm a tradie and therefore uneducated and only out to make a quick easy buck by ripping off hard done by investors? I wore a suit to work for 5 years before I started my apprenticeship. What makes my time and effort now open to negotiation. Because I charge more per hour? I charge $70 per hour with a $70 call out fee (for new customers only)
I also make 10% on the materials I sell you (its still about 20% cheaper than you buying it off the shelf)

take out :
gst
tool and vehicle maintenance
registration and licensing
insurance
ongoing training
regular income tax
super
advertising
the fact for every hour I spend on site there's another hour quoting jobs or sitting in the office writing invoices/ certificates/ making calls
Its not as huge a wage as you think.

I would make more getting $35/hr on wages at a big electrical contractors firm, where they in turn charge me out at $120/hr. But then I wouldn't have the satisfaction of telling people like the OP to kindly go **** themselves when they ask me to work for half price

Reactions: weg
Its quite obvious melbournian is pee'd off that uneducated tradies can earn so much money while having a great working lifestyle, stay fit, etc.

I thought most of us were arguing that they don't earn alot - that $66 ph is not that much.

Welcome joeyjoe. Spot on with what you wrote.

not peeved off one bit - i play sports and exercise everyday rather than lifting trash and i like staying in A/C office. lifestyle - nah dun like getting up early.

starting earning 6 figures as a first year graduate many years ago and because of my education took quite a number of trades to vcat when they tried to screw me over(where the tally is 20 to 0) in my favour. why would i have to be peeved? everyone to their own opinions. i'm merely disagreeing with some of the posts in terms of rates and not looking down on anyone.

as for joeyjoe - like i said earlier good on you for making X dollar. if you can you can - but if others can get lower rates it should be good on them too. come on - no more sad stories about insurance, materials etc etc. all the best mate.

Fair enough that's just one reason Australia's such a great place to live, people have the option to shop around for just about anything.
Whether its a tradie or a steak from a restaurant.
I don't have the option however to go to a restaurant and bring my own steak, or hang around the back kitchen door waiting for a chef to cook it for a bit of cash in his break. Or to try and borrow one of the apprentices to cook it because it cant be that hard right? I mean I could do it myself but I'm above that kind of work.

Hi Dave

I can assure you he or his mum are not telling porkies....he IStaking home 1600 net per week; if he does not work Sat he takes home i think 1200 net per week...last year when he was in his final year, he took home 800 net per week...
his mum happens to be one of my best friends....

BTW i can assure you by no means he is lousy at Maths....he already owns 2 IPs in Sydney....and can definitely add up!

Funny thing is he had a hard time getting an apprenticeship as he went to Sydney Grammar :eek: and lives in lower North Shore....talk about reverse snobbery eh?

Fair enough that's just one reason Australia's such a great place to live, people have the option to shop around for just about anything.
Whether its a tradie or a steak from a restaurant.
I don't have the option however to go to a restaurant and bring my own steak, or hang around the back kitchen door waiting for a chef to cook it for a bit of cash in his break. Or to try and borrow one of the apprentices to cook it because it cant be that hard right? I mean I could do it myself but I'm above that kind of work.

Spot on again...!!

Wow 2 posts and probably the best 2 Ive seen in quite awhile.

Welcome to the forum Joey.

not peeved off one bit - i play sports and exercise everyday rather than lifting trash and i like staying in A/C office. lifestyle - nah dun like getting up early.

starting earning 6 figures as a first year graduate many years ago and because of my education took quite a number of trades to vcat when they tried to screw me over(where the tally is 20 to 0) in my favour. why would i have to be peeved? everyone to their own opinions. i'm merely disagreeing with some of the posts in terms of rates and not looking down on anyone.

as for joeyjoe - like i said earlier good on you for making X dollar. if you can you can - but if others can get lower rates it should be good on them too. come on - no more sad stories about insurance, materials etc etc. all the best mate.

Maybe you should educate yourself to either count properly up to 30, or just admit the fact that you stretch the truth sometimes:

21-10-2011, 04:26 PM
Melbournian
Member Join Date: Apr 2010

never got stung before. my VCAT cases stands at 28 wins to me to 0 to the tradies. so couldn't be stuffed. I agree yes that the cheapest amount maynot necessarily be the best and he could be a high end painter that used to do penthouses or commerical buildings.

but i just can't take tradies even ones which i have used for ages and ones which i thought we had something getting done to come out with a stupid figure.

like just recently $800 to change a toilet. u kidding me?

virgo, what must his employers be charging their clients to be able to pay that, and how good must he be for them to pass it on :eek:.

Company?

Hiya

He works for a company that deals only in commercial...don't know maybe commercial plumbing pays better than residential plumbing?:confused:

plus it is a medium size company....my friends mentions some travelling allowance too?