What if you can't pay off

G'day all,
I'm new to Australia so pardon my ignorance. Just trying to understand what happens if you take a 15 yr loan and suddenly after 2 yrs crisis hits and you can't repay the loan back. Some scenarios of such crisis can be that you lose your job, main earner dies, you need to leave Australia immediately due to some family reasons, etc

What options you as property owner of such partially paid-off property have, such that you incur minimum loss on your investment.

Sorry for such a gloomy thread but I want to understand what happens in worst case :)

If you really can't make repayments, the bank takes the property, sells it, and you get what's left, if any. If selling the property doesn't cover the loan, you're on the hook for the remainder. They might garnish your wages, for example.

This risk is obviously greatest nearer the start of the loan. A few years into the loan, your wages are probably higher, you've paid some extra into the loan, and the property may have gone up.

If the ability to repay is only temporarily impaired, you may qualify for a break in or reduction of payments for a time under the hardship provisions.

There are universal requirements under the Consumer Credit Code for lenders to act "reasonably" in considering requests for a contract amendment in cases of financial difficulty, and this can be enforced via the Financial Industry Ombudsman.

http://fos.org.au/centric/home_page/resolving_disputes/financial_difficulty.jsp

Additionally, many institutions have their own hardship policies, which you should check out.

Some scenarios of such crisis can be...main earner dies

Make sure the main earner has enought life insurance to set the others up for life (i.e. pay off most of the loans)

..lose your job....you need to leave Australia immediately due to some family reasons, etc

By these I suspect you mean can't make the interest payments rather than "pay off" the loan.