Unsure how to play this offer game

Hi All,

So today I went and had a look at the townhouse I was interested in it was Advertised at From 470k. After a bit of looking and working out if it was the right place we decided to test the waters.

I wanted to start it off at 425k but agent told me that its not even worth her while writing it up, and she as had offers of 450k but has also not written them up and presented to the vendor.

I probably would of offered the 450k but didn't want to lay all my cards down. but even then she would not have bothered.

Maybe i'm dreaming or maybe the vendor is holding out. all 3 have been on the market for nearly 5 months with 1 just being sold recently for 470k

This is my first time to put an offer on a property, any advice would be great.

some things I find
  • the REA is not always strictly truthful
  • the REA works firstly for the REA secondly for the seller, who both have a vested interest in pushing the price up
  • purchasers decide the value of the property, not the vendor or the REA
  • walk away is a negotiation tool
  • make the offer, as you see fit, 24hours expiry
  • make offer on another property with a different REA from the same agency 23 hours later and watch the first jump to get a reply back to you
  • the signature on another member's posts
    "the deal of a lifetime comes along every day" make tomorrow's deal​
we had REA refuse to present 2 offers, we own the 11 & 5 unit buildings they refused to present.

Last edited:
Say to the agent. "Thanks for that. I'd like you to formally submit my $425K offer to the vendor anyway, you know, just in case one of the other (likely BS) offers falls through". Don't say the (likely BS) bit - it's implied ;)