Tenant's request

Hi all,

I have tenants who have been quite picky as to how they expect the house to be when they moved in (the house was completely renovated last year). They signed the lease as the house is but they are now requesting fly screens to be installed in the main bedroom. The old fly screens were removed when renovating because they were damaged and not practical to replace (the windows are the old small ones that open out). I normally like to keep tenants happy but I have said no to the PM and they have said the tenants are calling them every day about it! It's not a necessary cost but I'm not very good at saying no, as I understand it's nice to be comfortable in your home.

Would you say yes/no to this request? It's something that has always annoyed me about tenants requesting extra things when they have signed for the house as they see it! I can understand wanting flyscreens but there is flyscreens in every other part of the house.

Thanks! :)

Hi tarah,

I think it's completely up to you as it's your property!

However, I'm a bit of a softy & I would probably get the fly screens for them. How much would it cost?

If you do it for them, maybe it will lead to more requests for things or maybe it will lead to them settling down a bit & being happy...you just never know.

Regards,
M&M

Hi M&M,

Thanks. I think it will be a bit costly, as it will be a bit tricky to install them. I am a bit soft too because I always think how I would feel.

Thanks again :)

after feeling like I've almost been eaten alive by mozzies and scratching like a madman, I am at the moment feeling that the request is reasonable

For me, if the rest of the house is screened, I would screen the bedroom, for the cheapest price.

We don't have any screens, and have never had a tenant request them, but if they did, I'd suggest they buy a plug-in, like we use on the nights the mozzies are out.