Solicitor in Melb

Anyone know a good cheap solicitor in melbourne? I'm living in Canberra and buying a piece of land in Melb so ideally the contracts would go to a Melb solicitor.

I've used Moores Legal (03 9898 0000) 3 or 4 times, I've used Eric Choo(sp?) and Andrew (can't remember surname) there . They're a medium sized legal firm in Box Hill. Can't say I've had a lot of other experience with other solicitors, I've been happy them so haven't had to try any others.

Solicitors can vary a lot in price. I deal with some who are around the $650 + GSTmark to up to $1200 (excl disb).

I can put you in touch with one in Brunswick who'll certainly look after you. think he's normally $700 odd but he's been happy to look after some of my clients for $600-$650 (no kick-backs this way either BTW).

Regards
Steve

Hi chb

Do you want a solicitor or a conveyancer?

Try www.francistorrens.com.au

These are the 'original' conveyancers in Melbourne and have a long and venerable history. Details are on their website

Hope this helps
Kristine

I'm not even too sure myself! This is my first time buying and i'm not too sure of the process. I'll receive contracts sometime this week so I guess i need someone to look at the contracts to make sure its all legit and to give advice?
Conveyancing is for the actual physical land isn't it? The land doesn't settle til roughly Mar/Apr 09 so do i acquire the services of one then? What will the conveyancer tell me?

@Bradsdad/Twitch , Cheers for that! Will definately keep them in mind when I receive the contracts.

Hi chb

The 'conveyancing' part of the transaction is actually a misnomer

'Conveyancing' used to happen when deeds were physical. People used to hand all the documents relating to the whole chain of ownership from the vendor to the purchaser

Since 1967, Victoria has used the Torrens system of registration of ownership. The register is held by the Government and the ownership of the land is now 'transferred' from one party to another