Is Lyndhurst good to buy for a first Home buyer

I need advices.
I live in the S.E of Melbourne now.And we have been looking for a property for a long time even when the prices were up but good we waited and now we can move on.
We are looking at lyndhurst - both the Mariott waters estate and the rise estate

Since we are First Home Buyers we are thinking of land and packages is this a good idea?
We are also thinking of maybe Dandenong North or Keysborough as its nearer to the city.But then we wouldn't be getting the whole amount.

I'm looking for advices of people living in one of these estates.
Thansk alot

I dont live in either of these estates. I am a mortgage broker who works in the area for a major builder. I have seen the land price and builders price rise over the last 6 to 12 months by at least 5%. Lyndhurst is the closest new estate that side of the city. In terms of whether it is a good idea, it may be a good idea if you like the idea of building your own home, and like the area. Whether it will be a good investment is hard to say. Generally the further away from town the slower the capital growth, especially in the first 3 to 5 years. The new grant makes a bit of a diference. $26k usually means purchases up to $300k can have a 95% loan with money to spare from the FHOG. I would say most of my clients either build because they dont have the deposit to purchase an established house, or they wish to have a larger/ more modern home that they couldnt afford in the established market.

Thanks Tobe for your advice.
Waiting for more advices ....