Fix or variable rate????

Hi,

Just wondering what peoples thoughts are on fixing loans at the moment and what the advantages and disadvantages are.

At the moment I have three loans with offset accounts. Set at a variable rate of 4.8%.

PPOR - $260k P and I
IP1 - $360k Interest only
IP2 - $200k Interest only

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated as I am only new to the game!

4.8% is a pretty good variable.

Fixing isn't about the rate, it's about knowing that they repayments are going to be the same for a fixed period of time.

Will a rate change now make a big impact?

Also consider costs involved in breaking a fixed loan, usually no offset, harder to change lenders, borrowing extra funds.

Personally i have some fixed some variable across whole
Portfolio would be close to 50/50

Thanks for your reply. Do you think it would be worth fixing my investment properties and keeping my PPOR variable as I am paying it down as quick as I can?

Most fix do not have an offset account attached, so yes if your gonna fix ...fix your IP, so that you can pay down your PPOR + use an offset account.

Remember if you fix, there's a cost to break the contract if you sell or refinance during this time + it's a bit harder to draw on equity as your stuck with that one lender.

Are you planning on using equity? any plans to sell?

Thanks Mick.

I have no plans to sell IP's in the next few years. As soon as I have access to more equity I will start looking again. Locking interest rate in for maybe 5 years could be a good idea?

5 years is a lonnnngggg time...and generally not a good idea if your an investor.

+ the 5 years fix rate is relatively high.

wellll if you want to take full advantage of this equity in 18 month time, than you would fix for 1-2 years.

3 things can happen if you fix for 5 years.

1. The current lender who you fix with may turn around and say you have reached your "serviceability" with them, so you need to keep your option open