First time investor - Perth WA - Some newbie questions

Hello everyone,

First of all, I'd like to introduce myself here and give a big thank you to all the kind people who take the time to contribute their knowledge for beginners like me. I've been working in WA for a few years and I've been saving up slowly but steadily. I'm very keen on taking some positive action to enter the investment property market here in Perth. My savings are not much - enough to get me in the 400k and under market (just over 400k being my max). What motivates me to act is the unbelievably high demand for rentals in Perth. I would be able to cover a 400k mortgage without much hassle (given low expenditures), and if some of the mortgage is covered by the inflated rent prices people are having to pay, then it makes some reasonable sense for me to do this now.

There's a couple of issues that I'm encountering, however.

Firstly: I don't have a clue of the suburb market. What will provide a good balanced investment in terms of cash flow and capital growth. Here's what's got me really overwhelmed, however: The 'tips' I get from agents, friends, and my own research have either been flat out contradictory, laced with self interests, or lacking in clarity. Some say that a good way to go is small, central units (Suburbs like leedeville, Mt lawley, subiaco, etc). Sure, I can see how they could appeal down the track to have in a portfolio. Other agents have been pushing me towards duplexes in Balga - an area which, while I recognise as having some growth potential, seems to still struggle with a bad reputation and general dilapidated appearance in the vicinity of the listings.