Buying My First Ever House in Brisbane, please help

Hello everyone,

I'm a real newbie in real estate and I've got a few questions to ask.

A quick intro about myself and my current financial position:
Firstly, I run a very small business (self-employed) with low income (currently generating approximately gross $15,000/annum), and I work from home. I have my parents to back me up, my dad said he's able to provide 50% deposit of the total house price.

In the next few months/weeks I'm going to buy my first ever house in Brisbane, our budget is from $250,000 to $300,000.

My goals, and what I'll do with the new house:
1. Stop renting (I'm currently paying $90/week in a unit shared with a friend), have been doing this for 6 years now
2. I'll live and work in the house (make a home office and work from there)
3. Do some sort of home stay business (renting the other bedrooms to University students)

What I'm looking for:
A house (not new, since I plan to renovate the house in the future to add values to the property) with the following criterias:

1. Location - As close as possible to a University (5-10 minutes walk), public transport, and groceries stores
2. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 1 garage
3. Approximately 10 - 15 minutes from city by car

Please help with these questions:
1. Will I be able to get a decent deal/loan from a bank considering that I'm self-employed and have low income, and that my father is able to provide 50% upfront deposit of the house price?

2. Which suburbs in Brisbane do you think I should be searching/looking at? (I.e. I've always liked the Sunnybank areas since it's very close to the Griffiths University, and there's a lot of asian groceries, restaurants, shopping center, etc)

3. Should I come to each real estate agent/office in the suburb (i.e. Sunnybank) to look for the house that suits me? Or is it sufficient to search via realestate.com.au website?