Question of selling the units I built two years ago

Hi guys,

I am a part time developer who have built a few villa/townhouses in the past. I normally presale 50%and keep the rest. Now I decide to sell two units I built two years ago and would lke to get second opinion on GST and CG issuues as I think what my account told me might be not 100% correct.

When I built those units two years ago under a partnership, I claimed GST input credit from all the costs and paid GST for the units I sold as brand new. With the the ones I keep, I have paid those input credit back pro-rata in last two years. Now my accountant is telling me that I will still have to pay GST for the 2 years old units on a pro-rata base, which is correct. However, I still have to pay income tax for the profit and am not entitled for 50% CG concession. The 50% CG concession will only be available after holding the units for 5 years. His reason for that is ATO treats my development activities as a business for profit so it is an income instead of CG.

Could any accountants or developers shed some light on the 50% CG concession? Do I have to wait unti the units are 5 years old to get the 50% CG concession or I can get it after the first year?

Thanks in advance.

Issue is it on revenue or capital account. Period of time held has no impact for cgt if indeed even relevant. Gst the 5 year period is relevant.

Was it a mere realisation of a capital asset I.e. capital and discount applies or profit undertaking from an isolated transaction and revenue applies. Given you have a done a few developments in the past this doesnt work in your favour. How have you recorded the acquisitions in your accounts ? Are they trading stock ? What was your intention when you bought the asset ? Was it to develop and sell or hold long term ? What actions did you undertake soon after aquisition ? Did you start developing ? Get DA approvals ?