Quest Apartment Query

HI All,

I am a newbie to this forum and I am going to have a settlement for my first property (off the plan property). I came across the offer from Quest service apartment and I am quite interested to purchase the one in Maitland, NSW. This looks like a promising investment with purchase price from $250,000 and rental yield of 6.5%. There is no management fees, letting fees, body corporate fees, etc. There is also a rental guarantee regardless of the occupancy.

I do not have experience in investing on this type of property, so I would like to know if any of you know what would be the drawback in purchasing this property. For example: difficult to obtain finance from the bank, no one would buy the property when you want to sell it later, or other reasons. This seems to be a good property but I am just being suspicious since I am not familiar with this.

Thank you.

Frankie

Welcome!
Id walk on past a serviced apartment unless you had done some serious due diligence. They are a totally diferent animal than normal residential property.

the reasons you list are true, it is harder to finance, and due to it being harder to finance, there will most likely be less potential buyers (and therefore lower prices) when you want to sell.
Further be sus on rental guarantees, and due your homework on the financial viability of Quest as well as the vendor of the property (they may not be one and the same).

Avoid.

@tobe: Thank you for the warm welcome. I think I have to be very careful with this type of investment and probably I will avoid this too. I will look for other opportunities.

@Fifth: thank you for the info. I think will be very wary about purchasing service apartments.

Regards,

Frankie

A client wanted to purchase a Qwest appartment in Melbourne a few years ago. I advised him against it but he proceeded on the basis of good cashflow and so on.