Time to cash in my chips, am i crazy?

Im in need of a little advice from the collective wisdom that is Somersoft. Lately i have been doing some thinking about where i would like to be in 10 years and what my journey is going to be like along the way. Im 29 now, I got married earlier this year. My wife is 25, we're thiknig of starting a family within 2 years. I run my own business, I have been doing this for the past 6 years, my wife works a payg job.

We have 2 IP's with a combined value of about 900k - 920k with debts of 500k, so about 400k equity give or take. Our PPOR we built a year ago which is worth about 550k with debts of 320k, we would be happy to stay here for at least the next 5 years. Along with this we have some super, cars, etc the usual stuff.

Lately i have been getting a bit run down in my business (I think I am having an early mid life crisis :D ) and I am thinking of scaling back to relieve some of the stress. Along with this I am also thinking of selling my IP's that are negative geared to the tune of 15k a year ( who know how much more as interest rates go up) and using the equity to pay of our PPOR debt which should leave us with 50k or so that i was thinking of buying some blue chip shares with.

We would end up with a paid off PPOR, and a small share porfolio that we could further add about 50-80k each year of our savings plus reinvest the dividends, maybe leverage a bit depending on how things go. So we would still be investing but also have very low living expenses because of no PPOR and no negative IP's. I would imagine it's a big monkey off your back no longer having a PPOR loan. :)

Is this much of a plan?

Is this much of a plan?

Hi,

In the end there is really no right or wrong strategy and the best thing to do is what you feel comfortable with. You are in a reasonable position for your age, having around 630k in property equity.