Advice please - H+L packages - Helidon QLD

Hi folks,

at the risk of making this sound like i'm trying to use the thread to flog property, i am respectfully seeking some opinions and advice.

the story is...

for those who dont know me - i am a residential REA in the north west of Brisbane and deal mainly with established residential property in the $500-$1M bracket. My background is development sites and the unit and townhouse market of the inner north Brissy.

That being said, a former developer contact of mine has brought me some House and Land packages to sell in Helidon which is 100km west of Brisbane in the foothills of the Toowoomba range. The town is a very small community and there isn't much there other than several dozen houses, the usual small conveniences and the highway to Toowoomba.

the properties are the standard 3/4 bed full turn key h+l stuff you see all over now and with pricing just either side of 300k the raw return is about 5.5% (fraction more or less depending on which one).

My questions are:

- for those looking at this type of investment - what do you look for/at when considering a purchase??
- what is it that makes a regional h+l package worthwhile for you
- where do you look to find them
- any other comments or things i should know

i have never dealt with regional development prior to this and I am trying to figure out if this is worth my time and effort and if so, where to take them to get attract purchasers.

the main reason for me bothering is that if i can offload a few of these - there will be several hundred others across SEQ available to me - so am most interested to hear the thoughts of experienced investors as to the worthiness of this type of stock.

I would really appreciate help, comments or criticisms you think are worthy (snide remarks also most welcome:p)

cheers folks
UC:D

Hi.

Well i prefer to build new homes my self by sourcing the land and using my prefered builder.